Why Best-Selling Authors Keep Selling

Posted on June 27, 2012

0


I’ve got approximately 800 pages to go in the fourth book of the series that HBO’s “Game of Thrones” is based on (George R.R. Martin’s “A Song of Ice and Fire”). That means I’ve already digested the approximately 2500 pages that make up the first three installments.

I bring this up because I can’t believe I’ve gotten this far. I don’t love the books — I’m not usually a swords and dragons guy — but I can’t seem to stop reading them either.

I realized while reading a great article about storytelling on Marketingprofs.com that the reason is I can’t put these books down is how Martin tells the story. His writing has a very unique, engrossing style that keeps bringing me back. It’s not for everyone but it’s working on me.

Which is exactly one of the points author Jim Signorelli makes about popular authors in his article:

“If you check out a list of best-selling books, you’ll often find it consists of many narratives written by authors with whom you are familiar.   Having enjoyed their previous works, we clamor for their newest work.  And we do this out of an affinity for their interesting perspectives and their individualized expressions. We are not only drawn to messages they want us to read but also to the way they consistently write them.”

What a great observation that every radio host should take note of. Let’s break that down to the major components:

  • On a list of best-sellers you’ll find books written by well-known authors because, “Having enjoyed their previous works, we clamor for their newest work” which means you have work hard everyday to get the listener’s attention so they’ll want to hear what you have to say.
  • Listeners come back to your show “out of an affinity for their interesting perspectives and their individualized expressions” that you are hopefully giving them.
  • Listeners not only want to hear what you say but also the way you consistently say it.

Three great points to keep in mind as you get ready for your next show.

