Fluffy Died. Better Post it on Facebook

Posted on April 26, 2012

0


Not too long ago I wrote a post about how being vulnerable was an important way to connect with the audience.

Now, after non-related conversations with my wife and my friend (and Talent Mechanic client) Branden Rathert I think I may have some insight on why being vulnerable has become so important.

I think it’s because of Facebook.

Think about how many Facebook posts you see about topics that never used to be discussed openly: illnesses or deaths of family members (and pets), job losses, relationships breaking up and so many other traumatic events.

That’s stuff we only used to share with our closest friends; not with everyone we’ve known since grade school.

So it only seems logical that a host would need to be able to be just as open on the air as people are on Facebook and, as things are today, that’s pretty open.

Posted in: On-Air Content