I Love This Shirt

Posted on April 12, 2012

1


First of all, I never realized how difficult it is to take a picture of yourself in the mirror without obscuring your face. That’s a lesson in logistics I’d prefer never to repeat.

Second, I apologize for using my own ugly mug to grace the blog today but it’s all about the shirt which I got in the mail yesterday.

I’d sort of forgotten how much listening to WRIF meant to me when I was growing up. Just seeing the WRIF logo got me to thinking about things like:

  • J&J and the Morning Crew’s parody songs like “Fat Cat Strut”
  • Arthur Penhallow blowing the foghorn and announcing it was “81 Rock n Roll Over Degrees” as I rode around the neighborhood delivering newspapers.
  • Hearing local bands like The Rockets, Bittersweet Alley and The Look on the air.
  • The casual one Ken Calvert describing Arthur P’s arrival each day into the studio on his throne carried by naked pygmy’s.
  • Sending in self-addressed stamped envelopes to get custom WRIF stickers including the Rolling Stones one that had the lips logo which legend said the station got in trouble for.

Radio really can be something special to listeners, the fact that I’m excited about a t-shirt proves it.

Posted in: Uncategorized