Is Your Show First Run or Netflix?

Posted on March 27, 2012

0


What's better: Next week on Battlestar Galactica or next disc?

I have a friend who recently started watching Battlestar Galactica and, after watching the first season and a half, is considering bailing on the series.

While I realize I am geekier than most and loved that series in an arguably unhealthy way, he’s in the meat of the best part and is considering giving up.

If he was in season four when things start to get pretty goofy I wouldn’t have been surprised. But he’s in the meat of some of the best television I can remember. This piqued my curiosity.

As we discussed why he was considering giving up on the show something interesting surfaced; he is having a very different experience watching the show with all the episodes available to him at any time than I did having to wait a week to find out what happens next.

My experience was one of anticipation, his is one of endurance.

I was frustrated having to wait a week for more, he is frustrated looking at how much more there is to go.

I wonder how your listeners feel about your show.

Are they frustrated because they have to wait until tomorrow for more or are they considering bailing on your show because there is just too much to slog through?

If it’s the former, good for you. If it’s the latter, or you aren’t sure which applies, maybe you need some help from a good mechanic.

