Keeping Your Balance: The Punta Cana Edition

Posted on February 27, 2012

0


So, the fact is I’ve been in the Dominican Republic for the past week laying on the beach and re-reading “The Hobbit” in preparation for the upcoming movie.  

I pre-loaded new entries for most of last week but one can only write so many new blog posts at one sitting. Since we get back tonight and tomorrow will be a day full of catching up, I’m going to repost a few entries and will return with new content on Wednesday.

This post originally ran in September of 2011 and seems appropriate since I’m ON VACATION!

One of the toughest lessons to learn is the importance of maintaining a balance between your work and personal lives.

Take me for example.

For years I worked ridiculously long hours often blowing off commitments to friends and family.

So trust me, I’m speaking from experience when I say that’s a stupid thing to do.

It doesn’t make you more valuable to whoever you work for because you lose all perspective and it sure doesn’t make you more valuable to your family or friends.

I bring this up because I’m writing this post on  Thursday afternoon and I shouldn’t be. Like I mentioned in yesterday’s post, it’s Rosh Hashanah, one of the most important days of the year for jews which is supposed to include a cessation of work.

So you know what?

I’m going to stop writing this post, turn off the computer and stop working.

I’ll talk to you on Monday.

Posted in: Uncategorized