Suggested Reading: A New Resource for Radio People

Posted on January 11, 2012

0


While it’s hard for me to imagine another resource as vital and interesting for broadcasters as my own blog, I want to tell you about a new resource I would suggest checking out. Not Your Average Quarter Hour is a new twice-weekly column written by the Arbitron Programming Services Team with the goal of helping programmers better understand and make use of the ratings data they receive.

Now, in the spirit of full-disclosure, I do some consulting work for Arbitron and I was involved with the launch of this new column so I’ll admit to being a little biased.

On the other hand, I also programmed radio stations for a long time.

I took advantage of every Arbitron training course I could find and still, at times, had a hard time deciphering ratings data and what it meant for my station. A resource like this column would have been really helpful and I hope programmers take advantage of the content Arbitron is providing.

Of course, I realize my blog is directed at, and hopefully read by, a lot of hosts as well as some programmers.

The fact is, I don’t care what your title is.

If you are in a job where success or failure, employment or dismissal, is determined by Arbitron’s ratings data I suggest you do everything you can to understand the rules of the game including checking out this new source of information.

So just this one time, go ahead, click away.

But come right back ok?

Promise?

Hello?

Posted in: Uncategorized