Best (and Worst) Week Day 4: Whether Commenting or Hosting Don’t Be This Guy

Posted on January 6, 2012

0


At the start of the week I introduced you to Fast Company’s “The Best And Worst Of Everything In 2011: A Mega, Meta Mashup,” which lists the best “Best Of” lists that look back on 2011. They were so kind to narrow down the expansive number of “Best of” lists that I was inspired to trim even it even further by writing about my favorite entries.

Finishing out the week is a list from an NPR blog called “Monkey See” which lists The 20 Unhappiest People You Meet In The Comments Sections Of Year-End Lists. This is particularly intriguing because it’s a little scary how many airtalent open the mic and proceed to mirror the behavior of these people. For example:

The Really Pretty Sure Person, Who Is Really Pretty Sure: This person posts thoughts like I’ve never seen Game Of Thrones, but I’m really pretty sure it’s not as good as Boardwalk Empire.” I frequently hear hosts do this. It generally sounds like, “Well, [caller] I haven’t had that experience but I’m sure it wasn’t as bad as what I saw on TV once.”

The Read A Book Guy: This person writes things like Not one of these movies is as good as reading a book.” You will probably recognize this classic dodge that is often employed by hosts who are out of touch with popular culture. They choose not to engage so they just pine for “better days.”

The Subject-Changer: Similar to the “Read a Book Guy” above, this person posts things like“If we’re talking about great comedy performances, I don’t know how you can leave out [Barack Obama/the Republican debates/Occupy Wall Street/the Tea Party]. That was the funniest thing I saw all year.” Hosts who are on uncomfortable ground and may have their precious egos bruised if their guest or caller knows something they don’t often use this tactic to get to safer ground.

The Person Who Is Probably Too Hardcore For You:  People who post things like, ‘The best film of the year was shot in Tokyo and the title translates to I [Bleep]ed Your Grandmother With A [Blank] And [Bleep] You Too. I guess that’s probably a little too hardcore for you. You should get outside the multiplex once in a while,” are eerily similar to hosts who seem to go out of their way to make guests or callers sound stupid and subservient to the all-powerful talent; a style that is long overdue to just go away.

The Disbelieving; Posts that read like, “Really? Are you serious? Did you mean to leave off my favorite thing? Or did something happen? Did you forget it?  Do you not know how to spell it? Really? Are you kidding?” remind me a great deal of hosts who haven’t quite figured out that the show isn’t all about them. It’s about the audience.

