Beware of Jews with Guns

Posted on October 31, 2011

2


This is an actual picture of me this weekend in northern Wisconsin.

I wasn’t just posing with that gun. I actually shot it.

As a matter of fact, I defeated three friends in a target shooting competition; at one point hitting 4 beer cans in a row to win.

By now anyone who knows me even a little bit has fallen out of their chair.

Mike Stern, city-boy who loves living in downtown Chicago, was out in the woods shooting a .22? (at least I think it was a .22)

Mike Stern, the son of a jewish accountant who grew up in the suburbs of Detroit, not only shot a gun but was able to hit a target?

But the point of this post isn’t to tell you about the discovery of my surprising target shooting prowess.

It’s to make a point about the value of both establishing a clearly defined on-air personality and occasionally stepping out of character.

Think about it this way:

Imagine I am a radio host and my friends and acquaintances, who are just now getting back up off the floor to continue reading this post, are my audience.

Their absolute shock at finding out I spent the weekend in the woods of Wisconsin target shooting means two things:

  1. I have established and defined my on-air persona to the point where the audience knows and cares about me.
  2. I have really grabbed their attention by doing something that is contradictory to what they expect of me.

Having a well-defined persona that audience cares about is the best way to ensure loyal listening.

Occasionally deviating from that persona can be some of the most compelling content you will ever create.

If you need any help building a strong on-air personality or understanding just how to capitalize on occasionally deviating from it, I suggest hiring a good mechanic.

Posted in: On-Air Content