Shakespeare, Eminem, Snoop Dogg: Remember the Name, Or Don’t

Posted on October 3, 2011

0


The power of a name.

It’s been immortalized by some of the world’s great poets:

“What’s my name?

– Snoop Dogg.”

“A rose by any other name would smell as sweet.”

– William Shakespeare

“Hi, my name is… Slim Shady”

– Eminem

A post with Snoop Dogg, Shakespeare and Eminem; that’s why I love blogging.

But I digress.

Over the last few weeks I’ve seen a couple of friends retire their names.

Chris Ripley, also known to many as “Rip,” announced his return to Chris Ewing in an emotional yet understated Facebook post that simply said, “it’s time.”

One time aspiring airtalent and longtime radio promotions person AJ Cox has finally retired her pseudonym and begun using her married name AJ Rudolph.

And I fully plan to ask my friend Christine Pawlak, better known to most as Electra from Q101,  what would happen if she were to return to the air. Would Electra be back or would her listeners be introduced to Christine?

So what’s in a name?

I’ll admit to being conflicted.

As consumers become smarter and the world becomes more transparent because so much information is available online it seems like the era of wacky radio names might be winding down.

However, it is harder than ever to get the listener’s attention and a name that stands out can help.

So if you find yourself facing a choice about what name to use on the air weigh your options carefully.

Then remember, in the end, it’s the content of your show not the name that really matters.

