Music May Be a Commodity, But It’s a Darn Important One

Posted on August 10, 2011

0


Photo by Jack Edinger courtesty of Lollapalooza

So often these days we dismiss music as being an unimportant part of radio.

The mantra, which I’ve been known to repeat more than a few times myself, is that listeners can get music anywhere: Pandora, Satellite Radio, iTunes and a million other sources.  You have to offer listeners something more that those sources can’t; information, entertainment, expertise, whatever you want to call it.

But this weekend at Lollapalooza I got a stark reminder of how much music means to people and by people I mean our listeners.

Three straight days of 90,000 people gathering to listen to music doesn’t sum up the passion I saw.

It doesn’t explain what had to be probably 70,000 people hanging on every word Eminem said.

It doesn’t explain the group of 40-something women dancing endlessly in 90 degree heat to Big Audio Dynamite songs they probably haven’t heard in years.

And it doesn’t explain these people enduring a pouring rainstorm to watch the band Cage the Elephant:

By the way, I was one of them. I was in this crowd, pumping my fist, dancing around and getting soaked with my friends. It was AWESOME!

Sure, with so many sources available to consumers in 2011, music might be a commodity but it’s one they sure seem to care a lot about.

