If Thor Can Learn His Lesson, Why Can’t Social Marketers?

Posted on May 10, 2011

0


Thor learns to be worthy of his power. Fandango hasn't.

The basis of the story in Marvel Comics’ newest super-hero epic Thor is the age-old adage that pride goes before a fall.

Thor, the thunder-god, is set to take over the throne in place of his father, King Odin, when his pride gets the better of him and he does something stupid; he nearly starts a war.

So his father banishes him to earth where he has to learn to put the needs of others before his own (a good allegory for any new managers; but not the point of this post).

Of course thanks to Natalie Portman’s big brown eyes Thor learns his lesson and all is well in the end.

So if a god can learn a lesson why can’t social media marketers?

I bought my Thor tickets on Fandango. Later I got an email from the site that asked, “What did you think of Thor?” The body of the note read:

Thank you for using Fandango to purchase tickets to Thor.

Did you like the movie? The Fandango community wants to hear what you think.

Rate and review the movie now to claim your thank you reward!   

We appreciate your time – See you at the movies soon.

Having read two pretty bad reviews of the movie I had been more than pleasantly surprised at the theater (Note to Film Critics: It’s a super hero movie not an art film).

So I decided to take a minute and give the movie the props I think it deserves.

I clicked the link and was greeted by a sign-in page. I could log into my account, access Fandango through Facebook or create a new account if I didn’t already have one.

Why can’t marketers understand that when you invite someone to participate you shouldn’t put up walls for them to run into?

The email didn’t say I needed an account. I was just supposed to review the movie and claim a reward of some sort. Like most people who do online reviews, I didn’t even care about the reward. I just wanted to share my opinion.

But since I rarely purchase movie tickets online I don’t have a Fandango account, don’t need to have one and they don’t need access to my Facebook profile.

If a god can learn to be humble, why can’t marketers learn to be smart?

Bonus Thought: On a completely separate track, the Fandango email did spark an idea for radio talent. Many stations get passes for movie screenings that they don’t know what to do with, especially the bad ones.

Start a movie club. Invite your listeners to join you at the newest movies, bad and good. Then have an easy way, unlike Fandango, for the people who attended to rate and review the movie.

You get great content for on-air and online both before and after the screening plus a stream of prizes for your listeners and the chance to build loyalty amongst movie fans.

