Great Minds Blog Alike

Posted on April 26, 2011

1


Michelle's Money Savers

A while ago I wrote a post about the value of using local bloggers as a resource for show content. Well, leave it to my good friend Michelle Matthews, operations manager for the five-station Clear Channel cluster in Omaha and morning host on KQBW, “The Brew,” to provide me with a great example.

Of course, because Michelle always has to over-achieve, she is both the blogger and the broadcaster in this story.

The note I got from Michelle said, “I have a “non” radio blog and through my time there, I found that there really wasnt a really good local blog for coupons, grocery deals and other stuff….so I started one on the station website.” 

Since it’s launch, Michelle’s Money Savers has expanded. The blog has prominent placement on three station Web sites and Michelle now does a weekly guest spot on the country station’s morning show to talk coupons. She says the useful, local blog content has helped generate a significant increase to the cluster’s unique weekly Web traffic.

There are really two lessons to be learned from Michelle’s story. First, it illustrates just how valuable local blog content can really be for radio stations.  Second, it’s a great reminder that if you can’t find a blog that covers a topic you think would be interesting and valuable, start one of your own. It could help expand your personal brand in a whole new direction.

