Survey Says: Good Customer Service Matters

Posted on August 16, 2010

0


I recently had a jaw-dropping experience; flawless customer service at no less than three separate retail stores.

I thought the first was a fluke. I was in a Champs Sports during the day and the gentleman who waited on me was a little older than your average mall retail worker. I figured he was a manager and didn’t think much more about it.

Then I was at a GameStop looking for new Wii games and had the most helpful, knowledgeable clerk you could ever ask for. He shared actual insight and suggestions for me based on what type of games I like and play the most. I’m too embarrassed to post what I ended up buying but if you email me I’ll tell you.

Then, a few days later, I was at another GameStop because one of my Wii controllers was in its death throes and friends were coming over for a night of bowling and beer so I wanted to buy a new one. Once again I had great service. Not as good as the first store, but still really helpful and well-intentioned.

Then I got to thinking. Each store had one thing in common; when I was checking out the clerk pointed out a Web site on the receipt that I could log into for a short survey about my customer experience. I started wondering if a goofy online survey like that could be enough motivation for average retail hourly employees to work that much harder at serving the customers? You think? As a skeptic it’s hard for me to imagine but it’s entirely possible.

Then I started wondering; what if radio listeners could go to a Web site and fill out a quick survey about the airtalent they interact with. I wonder how the results would come out. When you are on the air it’s easy to forget you are in the customer service business.  Each time you busy the phone lines, hang in the corner seeming unapproachable at a remote or talk down to listeners who disagree with your opinion you are flunking the imaginary survey.

Unfortunately, good customer service is rarely ever rewarded. As a friend used to say, “they only call the grocery store when the milk is bad.” But poor customer service stands out and can cost you listeners and ratings. Maybe when you are working imagine that every listener is getting invited to a Web site to fill out a short survey about your show’s level of customer service.  If it can effect the way clerks at Champs and GameStop treat their customers it might be worthwhile for you too.

